I’m not going to go through every beauty purchase I made from October through December, but to give you a general idea:

  • In October, I made two purchases from Ulta of stuff I needed for travel, as well as some skin, hair, and nail products I actually needed.
  • In November, I purchased skincare and an undereye setting powder I needed, mostly using gift cards.  I also made an order during the Soko Glam sale for some Asian beauty skincare products, repurchased MAC Fix+ during a sale, and used Glossier credit I’ve been sitting on for a year.
  • In December, I bought the Wayne Goss Air Brush from Beautylish, The Ordinary’s niacinimide + zinc serum from Sephora, and the Murad serum I love during Sephora’s $25 off $50 special.

In the end, I was a hair within the budget I had set for myself for the year.  I found that, due to a combination of losing interest in makeup and realizing that I have a TON of products to get through, I don’t really feel the urge to impulsively buy makeup products anymore.  I also noticed that I’m more focused on skincare now.

This was a very useful exercise.  That being said, I probably won’t do the same thing next year, although I may informally keep track of my purchases for myself, just to make sure that I don’t end up going overboard!